## Planning & Zoning Committee PLANNING MEETING

County Administration Building – 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Conference Room

September 8<sup>th</sup>, 2023 7:45 A.M. \* Meeting held in person & via Zoom

PRESENT: Supervisors Jon Hinz – Chairman, Tom Egan, Shanah Zastera, Maribeth Gabert, Howard Miller. Jerry Bougie – Planning Director, Brian O'Rourke – Land Use Planner, Daniel Lefebvre – Assistant Zoning Administrator, Cary Rowe – Zoning Administrator, Caleb Edwards – Code Enforcement Officer, Mary Ann Mueller – Corporation Counsel. Other guests.

1. Approval of minutes from May 30<sup>th</sup> (Public Hearing), June 9<sup>th</sup> (Deliberative & Planning Meeting), June 23<sup>rd</sup> (Viewing), June 27<sup>th</sup> (Public Hearing), July 21<sup>st</sup> (Viewing), July 25<sup>th</sup> (Public Hearing), August 4<sup>th</sup> (Deliberative), & August 25<sup>th</sup> (Viewing).

Motion to approve these minutes with an amendment by S. Zastera. (See Zoom meeting recording for details of the amendment). Seconded by M. Gabert. Motion carried 5-0.

There was no further discussion of this item.

## 2. Public Forum.

- \* See Zoom meeting recording for individuals and subject matter of this agenda item.
- 3. Committee discussion and potential action on one or more of the following items:
  - a. Rescinding the Committee's April 14<sup>th</sup>, 2023, vote which approved not sending the Sawyer Creek Floodplain amendment application to Public Hearing.
  - <u>b.</u> Sending the Sawyer Creek Floodplain amendment application to Public Hearing.
  - c. Withdrawing the Sawyer Creek Floodplain amendment application.

Committee discussion on all three items (see Zoom meeting recording for further details).

Motion to call the question by M. Gabert. Seconded by T. Egan. Motion carried 3-2 (S. Zastera & J. Hinz nay).

Motion for item number "C" by T. Egan. Seconded by S. Zastera. Motion carried 4-1 (J. Hinz nay).

## 4. <u>Discussion on Shoreland Zoning Authority (attachment)</u>.

H. Miller read a memo that he provided for the Committee and staff detailing multiple actions taken by the Town of Clayton and Winnebago County, on the same item which was a CSM and zoning change.

The Committee, staff, and Corporation Counsel discussed the State Statutes, as well as Case Law, as to how and why County's have zoning jurisdiction in shoreland areas (see Zoom Meeting recording for further details).

## 5. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn by T. Egan. Seconded by M. Gabert. Motion carried 5-0.

Brian P. O'Rourke, AICP – Recording Secretary