Winnebago County

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE Bemis North America – Oshkosh North 3550 Moser Street, Oshkosh, WI

November 2, 2017

<u>Members present:</u> Mike Sipin, Doug Gieryn, Greg Gibbons, Mark Boettcher, Nick Barden, Beth Erdman, Linda Kollmann, Larry Smith, Keith Kiesow, Tracy Warren, Tim Eichman, Janell Tatro

Also present: Anna Carpenter (alternate), Eric Rasmussen, Becky Powers

The LEPC meeting was called to order by Mike Sipin at 9:30 AM. We began with an introductory presentation and safety video given by Michelle Fitzpatrick, EHS Manager at Bemis. A tour of the facility was taken following her presentation, and the committee conducted normal business afterward.

1. Roll call and approval of past minutes

Roll call was taken and a quorum was met.

MOTION to approve minutes from the May 4, 2017 meeting by Larry Smith; seconded by Linda Kollmann; all in favor; motion carried.

2. Public comments

None

3. Nominations

Keith Kiesow is retiring soon, and Todd Sweeney was nominated to replace him, completing Kiesow's LEPC term that ends December 31, 2017. John Ziemer has taken a new role at the Oshkosh Fire Department, and Mark Boettcher was nominated to replace him, completing Ziemer's LEPC term that ends December 31, 2019.

MOTION to approve nominations presented to complete these two terms by Linda Kollmann; seconded by Janell Tatro; all in favor; motion carried.

Terms set to expire December 31, 2017 are held by Todd Sweeney, Tracy Warren, Greg Gibbons, Beth Erdman, Janell Tatro and Nick Barden, and all were nominated to serve new terms ending December 31, 2020.

- Discussion was held about the four additional vacant positions on the LEPC committee. Larry Smith volunteered to contact Mike Schraa and request his service to fill the vacancy of elected official with a term ending December 31, 2018.
- Doug Gieryn volunteered to contact the new Highway Commissioner Ray Palonen and request his service to fill the vacancy of transportation representative with a term ending December 31, 2019.
- Beth Erdman volunteered to contact Rick Joslin of Wisconsin Dept. of Natural Resources and request his service to fill a vacancy 'At-large' to represent the DNR with a term ending 2019.

MOTION to approve nominations for the vacancies with terms ending December 31, 2018 and December 31, 2019, as well as the six renewed three-year terms ending December 31, 2020 by Larry Smith; seconded by Tracy Warren; all in favor; motion carried.

4. <u>Compliance Designation</u>

MOTION to designate the Wisconsin Emergency Management Compliance Inspector as the Winnebago County LEPC Compliance Inspector by Linda Kollmann; seconded by Larry Smith; all in favor; motion carried.

5. <u>Update LEPC Bylaws</u>

MOTION to approve the LEPC Bylaws without change other than the date by Linda Kollmann; seconded by Greg Gibbons; all in favor; motion carried.

6. <u>Update of "Policy & Procedures for the Handling of Hazmat Response Claims"</u>

MOTION to approve, without change other than the date, the required annual update of "Policy & Procedures for the Handling of Hazmat Response Claims" by Larry Smith; seconded by Doug Gieryn; all in favor; motion carried.

7. Spill Reports

Spill reports provided by Janell Tatro were reviewed, with minimal discussion. If anyone would like to receive the reports electronically, please contact Janell Tatro.

8. <u>Subcommittee Reports: Planning/Exercising and Education/Outreach</u>

Winnebago County is participating in a regional exercise on May 15, 16 & 17, 2018 that is being coordinated by Wisconsin Emergency Management. It is called "Dark Skies," based on a scenario of a long-term power outage. Players include the Wisconsin National Guard, Wisconsin Emergency Management, and Brown, Calumet, Dane, Outagamie and Winnebago counties. Winnebago County is using this exercise as an opportunity to focus on refreshing our abilities to activate our Emergency Operations Center, operate a 24-hour shelter (with the Red Cross), exercise department COOP/COG plans and perform a door-to-door outreach canvas in Omro. During this exercise, we will have the opportunity to provide additional 'just-in-time' training to our county department heads on EOC activation and responsibilities.

9. EPCRA Report

Eric Rasmussen provided a printed report to all committee members that listed all current EPCRA planning facilities in Winnebago County.

10. Adjournment

MOTION to adjourn by Larry Smith; seconded by Greg Gibbons; all in favor; motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 11:30 AM.

The next LEPC meeting date will be Thursday, May 3rd at 9:30 a.m., location to be determined.

Respectfully submitted by: Becky Powers