Winnebago County

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE 9:30 a.m. November 7, 2019

<u>Members present:</u> Mark Boettcher, Tim Eichman, Beth Erdman, Michael Erdman, Greg Gibbons, Doug Gieryn, Linda Kollmann, Carl Mohl, Suzanne Murawski, Larry Smith, Janell Tatro, and Allison Vaccaro

Also present: Chuck Anderson, Brian Bending, Jamie Lytle, Kim Piskacek, Becky Powers, and Eric Rasmussen

The first hour of the gathering was spent on a tour of the Oshkosh Waste Water Treatment Plant. Following the tour, we relocated to a room at the city garage for the business meeting.

Janell Tatro called the LEPC meeting to order.

1. Roll call and approval of past minutes

Roll call was taken and a quorum was met.

Guests at the meeting today included:

- Chuck Anderson, Operations Manager at Valley Environmental Response. He has offered to serve as an alternate to LEPC member Beth Erdman.
- Jamie Lytle and Kim Piskacek, Chemical Security Inspectors for Region V, US Dept. of Homeland Security. They serve in the Chemical Facilities Anti-Terrorism Standards Program and have recently completed an audit of Tier II facilities for Wisconsin Emergency Management. They will try to attend our meetings as part of the outreach for Homeland Security.

MOTION to approve minutes from the May 2, 2019 meeting by Linda Kollmann; seconded by Larry Smith; all in favor; motion carried.

2. Public comments

None.

3. <u>Update LEPC By-laws</u>

The only update made to the by-laws this year was the population increase. Allison Vaccaro moved to approve; Beth Erdman seconded the motion; all in favor; motion carried.

4. Nominations for Committee Terms Expiring December 31, 2019

Committee members Mark Boettcher, Ray Palonen, Carl Mohl, Tim Eichman, and Jake Biggar all have terms that expire at the end of 2019. Mark Boettcher plans to retire from Oshkosh Fire Department in 2020, and has recommended that Brian Bending, Division Chief/Fire Marshal be nominated to represent Oshkosh Fire on the LEPC. Linda Kollmann moved to nominate Brian Bending; Mark Boettcher seconded; all in favor, motion carried. Linda Kollmann moved to nominate Ray Palonen; Larry Smith seconded; all in favor, motion carried. Linda Kollmann moved to nominate Carl Mohl; Greg Gibbons seconded; all in favor, motion carried. Linda Kollmann moved to nominate Tim Eichman; Beth Erdman seconded; all in favor, motion carried.

Jake Biggar has indicated he will be unable to serve another term. Linda Kollmann nominated Suzanne Murawski from Oshkosh Defense; Greg Gibbons seconded; all in favor, motion carried. These terms will run from January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2023.

5. Spill Reports

Eric Rasmussen presented the spill report for review.

6. <u>Subcommittee Reports: Exercising and Education/Outreach</u>

Linda Kollmann gave a brief update on Outreach and Exercise activities. We conducted two EPCRA exercises this year, a tabletop and a functional with the city of Oshkosh, using the City's EOC during a chemical spill scenario.

There were several outreach activities that included distribution of the LEPC brochure and Linda made an appearance on the show 'Eye on Oshkosh.' In 2020, we need to review the LEPC brochure as we are running out of them soon, and need to decide if we want to update and print it, or develop an electronic version to replace it.

7. EPCRA Report

Eric Rasmussen gave an update on EPCRA activities. We currently have 108 planning facilities in Winnebago County. 36 plans were updated in 2019, and 40 more will be done in 2020, along with three new facilities: United Rentals, Quality Paint and Coating, and Horseshoe Beverage.

8. Adjournment

Mark Boettcher moved for adjournment; Doug Gieryn seconded; all in favor; motion carried.

The next LEPC meeting date will be Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 9:30 a.m., location to be determined.

Respectfully submitted by: Becky Powers