WINNEBAGO COUNTY SPECIALIZED TRANSPORTATION COUNCIL MEETING

Minutes

DATE: Tuesday, May 10, 2016

TIME: 1:30 p.m.

PLACE: East Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (ECWRPC)

PRESENT:

Nickolas Musson, ECWRPC; Holly Keenan, Lutheran Social Services; Dave Vickman, Go Transit; Erin Roberts, Public Health Department; Glen Davies and Darren Beyer, Oshkosh City Cab & Cabulance; Dana Schultz, MTM; Mark Weisensel and Dorothy De Grace, Winnebago County Department of Human Services

1. WELCOME & INTRODUCTIONS:

Nickolas Musson welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order.

2. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF THE FEBRUARY 9, 2016 MEETING:</u>

Mark Weisensel moved for approval of the minutes of the February 9, 2016 meeting; seconded by Dave Vickman and carried.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT:

There was no public comment.

4. MTM PRESENTATION/DISCUSSION:

Dana Schultz is a Senior Manager with MTM, Inc. They have had a three-year NEMT (non-emergency medical transportation) contract with the state of Wisconsin since August 2013. They are currently in negotiations for a one-year extension. The MTM Company provides transportation for eligible individuals that need a ride to a Medicaid covered medical appointment. They also provide rides to appointments that are urgent and can't wait the minimum of two business days' notice. Most of their transportation trips are ambulatory and done by taxi; they also utilize public transportation as much as possible. They offer gas mileage reimbursement to the Medicaid member or their support circle, and they provide reimbursement for meals and lodging if an appointment facility is too far away for them to drive back the same day. Dana said the expectation at the state level is that the MTM program is meant to be used as a last resort after other alternative transportation resources have been exhausted. They try to make the services available to individuals who really need them.

SPECIALIZED TRANSPORTATION COUNCIL

Minutes of 05/10/16 Meeting

Page 2

Dana said they use contracted providers in various areas of the state. They have a basic template of protocols that they need to follow for rides, and sometimes there can be challenges which cause inadequacies in service. Routine rides can be scheduled on the MTM website. Dana reported that there are 40,000 individuals in Winnebago County that receive Medicaid and are potentially eligible for MTM rides; 1,118 individuals used MTM's transportation service at least once last year; and approximately 28,000 rides originated from Winnebago County.

5. WINNEBAGO COUNTY RURAL TRANSPORTATION FACILITATIONS:

Nick Musson said there are two facilitations scheduled for June 7 and June 14 at the Omro Community Center from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. as a follow-up to the 2013 Specialized Transportation study. They will discuss transportation issues and work on a strategic plan. Nick invited everyone to attend.

6. TRANSPORTATION PROGRAM UPDATES:

Holly Keenan will be completing a 53.10 grant application as soon as it is available.

Mark Weisensel said the Human Services Department will be including funding in its 2017 Budget to cover the \$6 township cost share for riders of rural transportation.

Dave Vickman reported on the following: they are in the process of remodeling their office; they will be asking for bids for the Route 10 bus service for next year; they will be advertising for requests for proposals for para-transit services; they are working on specifications to purchase five buses to replace old ones; and they are working with the ECWRPC on the next development plan.

Nick Musson said they are in the process of preparing a proposal for a 53.04 planning grant to fund the Transportation Development Plan with Go Transit for the city of Oshkosh. They are also working on the Regional Comprehensive Plan.

7. <u>NEXT MEETING DATE – AUGUST 9, 2016</u>:

The date of the next meeting was noted.

8. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>:

With no further business, Mark Weisensel moved for adjournment; seconded by Dave Vickman and carried at approximately 2:45 p.m. The next meeting of the Winnebago County Specialized Transportation Council will be held on August 9, 2016 at the Hooper Community Center at 1:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by: Dorothy De Grace, Human Services Department